Skip To Main Content

State Mandated Instruction

Child Sexual Abuse, Dating Violence and Sexual Violence Prevention

Ohio’s prescribed curriculum for health education includes requirements related to child sexual abuse prevention, dating violence prevention and sexual violence prevention. The law includes requirements for student instruction, parent and legal guardian notification and training for school personnel. 

Beginning in the 2023-2024 school year, schools are required to provide developmentally appropriate instruction in child sexual abuse prevention to students in grades K through 6. Instruction is to occur annually and include information on available counseling and resources for children who are sexually abused. Instruction and information provided cannot be connected in any way to any individual, entity, or organization that provides, promotes, counsels or makes referrals for abortion or abortion-related services.  

  • Child sexual abuse prevention is to occur annually for students in grades K through 6. If health education is not offered annually for each grade, the instruction may be provided in another subject.  
  • The provider of the child abuse prevention instruction will depend on the curriculum that the school selected. Some curricula are developed in a manner that allow teachers to deliver the content to students. Other curricula may require a certified or trained facilitator to deliver a specific program. Schools should contact the curriculum or program developer with questions. 

Upon written request of the student's parent or guardian, a student shall be excused from taking instruction in child sexual abuse prevention. 

The opt out form is due on or before January 19, 2024.

Opt Out Form

Fight Child Abuse

SAVE Students Act (Safety and Violence Education)

Ohio's 133rd General Assembly enacted House Bill 123, the "Safety and Violence Education (SAVE) Students (SAVE) Act," regarding school security and youth suicide awareness education and training.

The state legislation calls for a comprehensive approach to school safety involving the Ohio departments of Education, Public Safety, Mental Health and Addiction Services, and Attorney General's Office.  Visit the Ohio Department of Education's website regarding this law and its requirements.

This law requires school districts to provide:

  • 1 hour of training in Social Isolation using an evidence based program for every student in grades 6-12 every year;
  • 1 hour of training in Safety Training and Violence Prevention using an evidence based program for every student in grades 6-12 every year; and 
  • 1 hour of training in Suicide Awareness and Prevention using an evidence based program for every student in grades 6-12 every year.

Parents and guardians have the right to opt out of any or all of the activities required by this law.  Please complete the form that was sent home with your student to opt out of activities required by the SAVE Students Act or click the opt out form below to print.  

The opt out form is due on or before January 19, 2024.

Opt Out Form

Sandy Hook Promise

Erika's Lighthouse